An Informal Introduction

Standard

Since becoming a believer during the Jesus People Movement, I have had a strong passion to be more like Jesus. My heart still yearns and burns to live a life that is pleasing to Him. For years I struggled in my own strength to produce this Life, but always ended in self-berating defeat. Then I met a wonderful mentor who led me to the understanding that the Lord Jesus Christ is my Life: He is the power to live the Life (e.g. Col. 3:4; & Gal. 2:20-21). Since this time, I have been on a journey to apply this truth to all aspects of my life and to encourage others along their journey with Jesus to do the same.

Thus, the birth of this blog. Since we all see through a mirror dimly and now know only in part, my desire is to get a conversation going about living the Life of Jesus through our human fragility. This conversation may vacillate between the spiritual & unseen and the physical & the very seen. Through this conversation, my desire is to discover balance. This balance is between this spiritual, rather mystical life, and a focus on behavior, which often leads to some measure of legalism, or what I call Behavioral Christianity.

This latter extreme is an attempt to live the Life of Jesus in the power of the flesh, or through  human effort. The other extreme seems to discount that the Lord Jesus valued the humanness of His creation, man & woman. He demonstrated this value:  (1) by being BOTH God AND Man, taking on human likeness; (2) by resurrecting in bodily form, confirming so by eating some fish and letting His disciples touch Him; and (3) by touching; Jesus touched many, not only when He healed them, but when He blessed them, too (e.g. Matt. 8:3, 15 & Mk. 10:16).

Through many conversations over the years I have learned the wisdom of Phil. 3:15-16: “All of us who are mature should take such a view of things. And if on some point you think differently, that too God will make clear to you. Only let us live up to what we have already attained.” At the risk of sound self-adulating and considering myself mature, I do believe that it is through the process of these exchanges we will come to a better understanding of what the Lord is making clear to us. But in the meantime, let us maximize what we have in common understanding: Jesus is the Risen Lord!

3 thoughts on “An Informal Introduction

  1. Diane Malone

    This is always a great reminder. I had struggled with that in the past, but my concern on the “nagging” issue is that when you ask for help and you didn’t get it, so you ask again and it repeats and you are considered nagging. The part I like in 1st Peter is: ” you husbands must live with your wife’s in an understanding manner.” So it is work on both parties in the relationship.

    Like

  2. Ashley Weaver

    This is awesome, Dad! Well, written, clear, and welcoming. Thank you for sharing and taking a step of faith! I like how you focused on this being a journey together. Definitely a struggle for me to continue thinking “I have arrived.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

